Monday, 20 May 2019

Doubletree Hotel (London, England)

Yesterday I went over to Buckingham Palace as planned. Always good to check in there while I’m in London. Was a fairly quiet Sunday and many people were out with friends and family in both Green Park and St. James’ Park. While I was in St. James’ Park one of the marching bands came through with at least 200 men, both in uniform and suits, marched by as I was resting on a park bench. I later read that Prince Andrew was honoring veterans at the end of the parade.

It feels good being back in London again. I haven’t been here since the first week of January. I was thinking back on when I first visited London almost three years ago. I was still very much intimidated by the underground back then. Now I use my phone to get me through the turnstiles rather than use an Oyster card and can read the route maps.

Today I took the underground to Oxford Street and Soho and walked around. Another area that I like to visit. I found a place where I ordered a hamburger and rested there while I ate my lunch. I saw a BBC program a few months ago about the pickpockets that frequent the area, so I was on the lookout for them.

Later I finalized plans for the rest of my stay. I leave for Plymouth on Saturday for a few days. I’ve always wanted to visit that part of England and this is more of an exploratory visit. My cousin Glenn visited this area last year and enjoyed his stay there. I may return next year about this time, before I leave for Russia.

Tonight I spoke with Paula and we’re making plans to meet up in Ireland for a couple of weeks in August. She will be in England later this week and I’ll see her one day next week to outline our travel plans.

As for the rest of this year, I’m starting to make plans, at a very high level, of where I’d like to visit. Then I started to fill in spots for next year as well. There are some places that I’d still like to visit while I’m over here. October 2020 is still my target for when I return to the U.S. for at least six months. I spoke with my brother about some of the logistics of acquiring furniture (minimal) for my stay and he said he would help.

Tomorrow I’ll visit King’s Road (Chelsea) and hopefully get a pedicure. It is expected to be a sunny day.

instagram.com/travelexplorelearnshare

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *