Thursday, 29 November 2018

Edinburgh, Scotland (6 Glencairn Crescent)

I’ve moved to the Glencairn Crescent flat as of the 16th of November. After three weeks at Great King Street I was ready to move, though I really liked the flat. I have settled with Donna and Adrien, the owners of both flats, that I will book stays at these locations next June and July. Glad I got that out of the way.

After the first of the year, I’ll stay in the Larnaca, Cypress flat for a month starting January 8th. I’ve booked both the flat and my flight from London on the 8th. Tentatively, I’m planning to visit Israel, Jordan, and Lebanon in February, after my stay on Cyprus. Then either Malta or starting my tour of southern Italy in March.

My workouts at the gym continue. I’m there 4 – 5 days a week, which gives this old body some time to rest on my days off. Speaking of which, I’m getting reminders to sign up for Medicare since I’m turning 65 in March. So much to read about Medicare! Before I sign up, I scheduled a full physical and also to visit the dentist.

The dentist visit went well. No cavities. He said that even though it has been over a year since my last cleaning, he found very little tarter on my teeth. The best thing is that my bill for the visit was $115. This included the dentist consultation, cleaning and x-rays. As for my physical, today I went to a highly rated private clinic and got my vitals checked and blood taken for a full blood test, including a PSA test. I’ll meet with the doctor next week. On top of this, my medical insurance agent reached out to let me know that she can be a resource to help with Medicare, and I know she will be available to sell me supplemental insurance if it comes to that. Some preliminary good news, from my clinic visit today. I learned that my blood pressure was normal (137/90) and my resting heart rate was 51 bpm. I’ll report the rest of my findings next week after I visit with the doctor.

One of my projects I recently completed was to transcribe a travel journal that my grandfather Marsh wrote as he and my grandmother traveled to Detroit to pick up their new Packard in 1949. My dad joined them in Hornell, New York where they visited family after they picked up the car. I sent this transcription with a few pictures to my Marsh cousins, Brother Rick and my niece. The journal will be sent to my brother for safekeeping. I’m trying to further reduce my load since I’ve been carrying this journal with me since June 2016. A few other items will be sent away over the next week or so.

The food prices still amaze me. I bought a large whole chicken for around $7, which would be closer to $10 – 12 in Portland, if I remember correctly. I’ve been eating all my meals at home. No McDonald’s while I’ve been in Edinburgh. The kitchen in this flat is very large and have plenty of room to prepare food. The kitchen in the other flat was much smaller with limited counter space. Both have all of the modern conveniences, but this one has a dishwasher.

Next Friday the 7th I travel to London where I’ll spend the holidays. Christmas is well-celebrated in London. The street decorations are over the top. I’ll post pictures to Instagram. Speaking of which, I’ve let Instagram go idle, but I will post a few pictures over the next couple of days. I’m in no rush. Nice to have time to totally relax.

https://www.instagram.com/travelexplorelearnshare/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *